Veggie Juice!

I know what you’re thinking.

Actually, no, I have no idea what you’re thinking. But I know that veggie juice sounds “ew”, or expensive, or out of reach, or just isn’t exactly cooking.

You’re wrong. I mean, I guess it might be “ew” to you if you juice things that don’t taste good to you, but it’s really not that expensive to do (I can afford it!) and it’s really good for you. I kind of wish I had stuck to drinking veggie juice once or twice a day like I started to a few months ago, and I plan to go back to it. I was feeling great, I had a ton of energy, I was dropping some pounds, and I stopped craving the fast food that I learned cooking to avoid in the first place.

My juicer isn’t the greatest, but it functions. It was $30 at Meijer and is pretty easy to clean.

I usually have a glass at breakfast and one before class. Other people I know like to have a glass after their workout. The point is, this stuff is quick, gives you all the nutrients you could ask for, avoids the pesky chewing involved with eating your veggies, and fills you up just enough to keep you from making non-delicious food choices you’ll regret later.

There are tonnes of other blogs and articles and stuff about all of the magical benefits of juicing and how to do it and all of that. But that’s not my mission here. My mission is to tell you how to make a delicious, quick, easy, and cheap beverage that is tasty and will make you feel good.

So, due to their cheapness and general deliciousness, I usually juice:
1/2 cucumber (rinsed but unpeeled) – ~$1/cucumber
4-5 balled leafy greens (can be kale, mustard greens, or any other leafy things you find in that part of the produce aisle) – ~$.89/bundle
a handful of balled parsley and/or cilantro – ~$.49/bundle
3-4 celery stalks – ~$3/bundle

That’s a big glass of veggie juice for ~$1.60, you can make one every day for a week and, if you purchased in reasonable quantities, it’ll all be gone before your produce ever goes bad, just in time to go grocery shopping again.

If you want something that tastes like something other than green, try adding things like:
1 carrot (washed/peeled) – ~$3/bunch
1/2 apple (washed/cored) – ~$.50/apple
1 beet (washed, unpeeled) – ~$2/bunch

You can add other fruits, roots, leafy bits, or anything that fits your palette/budget. Experiment. Report back with your findings, and check back soon for some actual cooking-type recipes 🙂
-Molly

4 thoughts on “Veggie Juice!

  1. Pingback: Breakfast Cake! | Molly Stewart Living

  2. Pingback: Biscuits and Gravy | Molly Stewart Living

  3. I don’t have a juicer, but I might have to pick one up. Like you said, juicing veggies doesn’t sound all that amazing at first, but I -do- like fruit juice a lot, and I like most vegetables, so for 30 bucks….

    • I find that if you don’t tell yourself it’s going to taste like anything you’ve ever tried, and are just braced for a totally new experience, it’s a lot easier to stomach. Just sip slowly at first, eventually it’ll grow on you 🙂

Leave a Reply

