I’m broke, but I like delicious food…

…and there’s nothing wrong with that.

I have lived on ramen and microwave burritos before. I have lived on the Dollar Menu and have the thighs to prove it.

Then one day someone told me that I could eat delicious food without tapping into my getting-to-work-and-school gas fund. And get this– most of it even has some nutritional value!

So, I decided to start a blog for other people who have sat in the Taco Bell drive-thru wondering why they raised the price of soft tacos again. People who have made ambitious grocery lists with the best of intentions, gotten to the grocery store, and just filled their cart with the noodle equivalent of cardboard out of anxiety and/or general laziness.

Cooking tasty food doesn’t have to be stressful, and doesn’t have to take a lot of time or ingredients or specialized knowledge. I had to figure all of this out on my own, so here’s hoping that this blog helps someone, somewhere figure it all out.

First, put these things on your next grocery list. They’re what we call staples, and are either necessary for almost everything I know how to make, or have a long shelf life and come in quantities large enough to last you for some time.

butter
eggs
rice
flour
sugar (granulated and brown)
canned tomato sauce
canned tomato paste

The other thing you need in order to make delicious food is spices. They vary in price depending on where you buy them, but many grocery stores (especially ones with “value” in the name!) sell them for around $1.00 each. I recommend at least having the following, though more spices means more flavours you can choose from!

black pepper (the regular stuff, used in shakers everywhere)
garlic powder (not salt!)
onion powder
oregano
basil
Lawry’s seasoning salt

I will probably come back and add to these lists as I think of things, but these should be enough to get you started!

Thanks for reading, and come back soon for recipes and cooking tips and random anecdotes that have nothing to do with anything we’re trying to accomplish here!

-Molly

One thought on “I’m broke, but I like delicious food…

  1. Pingback: Breakfast Cake! | Molly Stewart Living

Leave a Reply

